Board of Trustees

The School for Field Studies, a 501(c)(3) non-profit educational provider, is governed by an external Board of Trustees, which is led by the Chair and Vice Chair. The Trustees are appointed members responsible for defining the mission and strategy of the organization while ensuring that it has the adequate resources necessary to carry out this mission and strategy.  SFS Trustees represent a wide variety of professional, community, and personal experiences relevant to the programmatic and operational work of the School.

Terry Andreas
Board Chair, Founder of The School for Field Studies
Parent of two SFS Alumni
New York, NY

James L. Jackson
Board Treasurer
Partner: Johnson, McKee, Jackson & Associates
Senior Portfolio Manager, RBC Wealth Management
Portland, ME

Angela Foster-Rice
Senior Vice President, Everland LLC
Chicago, IL

Carrie Jenks
Executive Director, Environmental & Energy Law Program, Harvard Law
Alumna, SFS Mexico Fall ’94, TCI Spring ’95
Cambridge, MA

Christy Uchida
President, The Brinson Foundation
Alumna, SFS Australia Spring ’92
Chicago, IL

Cliff Roberts
TV and Film Producer
Alumnus, SFS Kenya Summer ’94
Pacific Palisades, CA

Courtenay Cabot Venton
Founder and Executive Director, The Share Trust
Alumna, SFS Mexico, ’94

Darren Aronofsky
Film Director
Alumnus, SFS Kenya Summer ’85 & Alaska Summer ’86
New York, NY

Eric Olson
Executive Vice President, BSR (Business for Social Responsibility)
San Francisco, CA

Jennie Dean
University of California, Los Angeles
Alumna, SFS Turks and Caicos Islands, Summer ’04
Los Angeles, CA

John S. “Jack” Waggett
Dean, Trinity College (retired)
Knoxville, TN

Shaun Martin
Acting Goal Lead, Climate Change; Vice President, Ecological and Social Resilience at WWF
Washington, DC

Sonal Pandya Dalal
Environmental and Sustainability Professional
Alumna, SFS Australia Summer ’92
San Francisco Bay Area, CA

Victor Imbimbo
Caring Today
Greenwich, CT

W. James Tozer, Jr.
President, Vectra Management Group
Park City, UT

James A. Cramer
Board Clerk
ex officio, SFS President
Beverly, MA



SFS Trustees appoint the SFS president, who serves as executive leader of the organization as well as the ex-officio and Clerk for the Board of Trustees.  James A. Cramer has served as SFS President since 2012.

School of Record

The University of Minnesota has served as the SFS School of Record (SOR) since June 2014. The University of Minnesota works closely with SFS on program quality through representation on the SFS Partners Council and through program reviews every five years. As a U.S.-accredited institution, the University of Minnesota can also issue official transcripts to SFS students who need them.